Our Lady of Mt Carmel - Mullewa
Nestled in the town of Mullewa is what is aptly named the ‘Jewel in the Crown’ of Monsignor John Hawes’s church designs.
The architecture is Romanesque-type, similar to churches in the South of France. The exterior has long low proportions reminiscent of the Spanish Franciscan Mission churches.
Hawes commenced sketches of the church in 1920 while holidaying in England and the foundations began in 1921. During the time of construction he was feeling rejected and humiliated by the non-acceptance of his design for the Perth Cathedral and the scorn given by Bishop Ryan re the unfinished Cathedral of St Francis Xavier in Geraldton. The personal, intimate and charming work of the Mullewa Church was to please himself and as he wrote to a friend, “my heart is in these stones”. Hawes wanted his church to signify the antiquity, romance and quaintness of the old hillside churches of Southern Europe.
The church of Our Lady of Mt Carmel was built almost entirely by this priest/architect with help from local farmers in the district carting stone from the neighbouring quarry. When the parish couldn’t afford to pay a mason, Hawes took on the job himself.
The building of Our Lady of Mt Carmel began in 1921 and the design evolved over the next 6 years with the opening taking place on 1st May 1927. Archbishop Clune came from Perth for the Opening Ceremonies.
On entering this quaint building, to the right one can see the baptistry which is lit by natural light, with the side altars moulded and decorated in typical Hawes style. The choir gallery at the west end houses a small pipe organ purchased by Hawes in memory of his mother who remained a Protestant all her life.
The nave consists of 5 bays spanned by transverse pointed arches which support the roof timbering. The dome over the sanctuary is constructed of handmade concrete blocks. On the summit of the dome is a circular lantern with glazed windows which filter light over the altar.
The base of the bell tower has a purpose-built slit in the wall so that the bell ringer can sound the consecration bell at the correct time. The tower contains 7 bells which were manufactured in NSW.
Due to an increase in the population, the northern transept “St Michael’s” was added in 1962 to blend with the existing building.
This delightful church although small is perfectly to scale. It is monumental in character and perfectly in tune with the landscape.
Play the Audio Tours
Visiting the building
The Church is located at 10 Doney St Mullewa and Priest House Museum is on the Cnr of Doney and Bowes Streets. They are open daily from July 7th to September 30th (10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.) Mass is celebrated on Sunday at 8:30 a.m.
Enquiries: Phone: Barb Thomas 0427 623 053